Child Passenger Safety in Nebraska

Nebraska’s child safety seat use has increased considerably over the years from 84% in 2005 to 98% in 2016
for children ages 0 to age 6." These rates are significantly higher than the rate observed (56%) when these
observations started in 1999. This is due to improvements to Nebraska’s child passenger safety laws and
statewide car seat check events and fitting stations that provide education and seat distribution.

During 2015 on Nebraska roadways:
« A total of 253 children ages 0-4 were injured;

» A total of 384 children ages 5-9 were injured;
« A total of 590 children between the ages of 10-14 were injured.

*Death numbers are suppressed due to the low numbers.

In Nebraska, the risk of a motor vehicle crash injury increases as children get older.’ According to the
Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia, as children age, the overall risk of injury in a crash rises. This is due, in
part, to the different ways they are restrained at each age (including improper seat belt fit); where they sit in
the vehicle (back vs front); and other crash characteristics. Another factor that plays a role is the type of laws a
state has.

In Nebraska, children ages 6 to 18 are covered by a secondary enforcement seat belt law in which children can
ride without a car seat/booster seat after age 5.

Strategies to Prevent Child Passenger Crash Deaths and Injuries

Through the Safe Kids National Child Passenger Safety (CPS) Certification program, child passenger safety
trainings are offered throughout the country, including Nebraska, to train individuals to become Child
Passenger Safety Technicians (CPST). CPST and instructors use their considerable knowledge and expertise
at a variety of community-based activities, such as child safety seat checks and advocacy activities. Parents
and caregivers receive education about best practice guidelines for car seat use and hands-on assistance
about proper use of car seats. CPS technicians and instructors must keep up-to-date on the latest technical
information about child passenger safety through seminars and other continuing education opportunities to
maintain their certification. Many of these CPS activities take place in conjunction with car seat distribution
programming.

In a study published in 2012 titled, “Effects of booster seat laws on injury risk among children in crashes,”
Eichelberger AH et al, studied five states that increased the age requirements for car seat/booster seat use to
ages 7 or 8. They found that the rate of children using car seats and booster seats increased nearly three times,
and the rate of children who sustained fatal or incapacitation injuries decreased by 17%.* Currently, Nebraska’s
child passenger safety law requires children up to age 6 to be in a car seat/booster seat. Surrounding states
such as Kansas, Missouri, Colorado and Wyoming require children through age 7 or older to be in booster
seats.’

The American Academy of Pediatrics states that all infants and toddlers should ride in a rear-facing seat until
they are at least 2 years of age or reach the highest weight or height allowed by their car seat manufacturer.®
According to research studies, children up to 2 years of age who are placed in forward-facing child safety
seats are significantly more likely to be seriously injured in a crash than same age children in rear-facing child
safety seats.” Currently, California, New Jersey, Oklahoma and Pennsylvania have passed legislation requiring
children under 2 to ride in a rear-facing car seat.



In a survey by Partners for Child Passenger Safety (Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia), participants said they
depend mostly upon state laws and local law enforcement for reliable information about how best to protect
their children when transporting them.

Short-Term High-Visibility Enforcement
Community-wide information and enhanced enforcement that focuses on the use and correct use of car seats
and booster seats can be combined with seat belt enforcement activities in order to increase car seat use.

Cited Sources
'Nebraska Child Restraint Usage Rate 2005 to 2016. Nebraska Department of Roads Highway Safety Office
(NDOR HSO). Retrieved November 10, 2016. http://www.roads.nebraska.gov/media/6503/op5css.pdf

*Nebraska Children/Child Passenger Related Crash Data. NDOR HSO. Retrieved November 22, 2016.

http://www.roads.nebraska.gov/safety/crash/cps/

*Protecting Older Children in Motor Vehicle Crashes Fact Sheet. Retrieved July 16, 2016. http://dhhs.ne.gov/
publichealth/InjuryPrevention/Documents/Child%20Passenger%20Safety%20for%2001der%20Kids%20FY16.

pdf

‘Effects of booster seat laws on injury risk among children in crashes. Traffic Injury Prevention. November
2012. Eichelberger, Angela H.; Chouinard, Aline O.; Jermakian, Jessica .

>Child Safety. Child safety seat laws. Insurance Institute for Highway Safety. Retrieved September 21, 2016.
http://www.iihs.org/iihs/topics/laws/safetybeltuse?topicName=child-safety

SCar Seats: Information for Families. Healthychildren.org: American Academy of Pediatrics. Retrieved
September 21, 2016 https://healthychildren.org/English/safety-prevention/on-the-go/Pages/Car-Safety-Seats-
Information-for-Families.aspx

’Car Seat Safety: Newborn to 2 Years. The Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia. Retrieved November 10, 2016.
http://www.chop.edu/centers-programs/car-seat-safety-kids/car-seat-safety-by-age/newborn-2-years

Resources
-Safe Kids Nebraska. http://www.safekidsnebraska.org/

-Safe Kids Worldwide. http://www.safekids.org/
-National child Passenger Safety Certification. http://cert.safekids.org/

-National Traffic Safety Administration. Parents Central. http://www.safercar.gov/parents/index.htm

-American Academy of Pediatrics. Healthychildren.org. https://healthychildren.org/English/safety-
prevention/on-the-go/Pages/Car-Safety-Seats-Information-for-Families.aspx

-Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. Child Passenger Safety.
http://www.cdc.gov/Motorvehiclesafety/Child Passenger Safety/index.html

-The Use of Child Safety Seats in Nebraska. The Results of a Survey of Child Safety Seat Use, Fall 2016. NDOR
HSO. Retrieved July 19, 2016. http://www.roads.nebraska.gov/media/6706/childsafetyseat16.pdf

Updated 1/13/2017


http://www.roads.nebraska.gov/media/6503/op5css.pdf
http://www.roads.nebraska.gov/safety/crash/cps/
http://dhhs.ne.gov/publichealth/InjuryPrevention/Documents/Child%20Passenger%20Safety%20for%20Older%20Kids%20FY16.pdf
http://dhhs.ne.gov/publichealth/InjuryPrevention/Documents/Child%20Passenger%20Safety%20for%20Older%20Kids%20FY16.pdf
http://dhhs.ne.gov/publichealth/InjuryPrevention/Documents/Child%20Passenger%20Safety%20for%20Older%20Kids%20FY16.pdf
http://www.iihs.org/iihs/topics/laws/safetybeltuse?topicName=child-safety
https://healthychildren.org/English/safety-prevention/on-the-go/Pages/Car-Safety-Seats-Information-for-Families.aspx
https://healthychildren.org/English/safety-prevention/on-the-go/Pages/Car-Safety-Seats-Information-for-Families.aspx
http://www.chop.edu/centers-programs/car-seat-safety-kids/car-seat-safety-by-age/newborn-2-years
http://www.safekidsnebraska.org/
http://www.safekids.org/
http://cert.safekids.org/
http://www.safercar.gov/parents/index.htm
https://healthychildren.org/English/safety-prevention/on-the-go/Pages/Car-Safety-Seats-Information-for-Families.aspx
https://healthychildren.org/English/safety-prevention/on-the-go/Pages/Car-Safety-Seats-Information-for-Families.aspx
http://www.cdc.gov/Motorvehiclesafety/Child_Passenger_Safety/index.html
http://www.roads.nebraska.gov/media/6706/childsafetyseat16.pdf
http:Healthychildren.org
http:Healthychildren.org

	_GoBack

